LATEST / MUSIC

M.I.A. IS FULL OF ACRONYMS WITH NEW SONG “Y.A.L.A.” PREVIEW

Matangi's album cover via M.I.A.'s instagram

Matangi’s album cover via M.I.A.’s instagram

M.I.A.’s fourth studio album Matangi releases on October 22, so what better way to celebrate than by previewing another new song?! Listen to Y.A.L.A. here.

The new album’s name refers to the artist’s real name, Mathangi, and where it actually originates from. In an interview with the Paper, M.I.A. said:

“When I went to India, I was looking on Google for stuff that was the color of a certain green, and that’s when this green goddess, Matangi, popped up. I was like, that’s weird, the whole time I’ve been alive on this planet, my mom never mentioned where my name came from. Matangi was the goddess of knowledge and the arts–music, art, dancing, spoken word. When they invented this mythology 4,000 years ago, the concept of someone being about all those things was normal.”

M.I.A. is never one to shy away from her cultural roots, so it’s cool to see her embrace Hindu mythology. Yala is also the dry season in Sri Lanka, as well as a famous national park in the southern part of the country. But it sounds like M.I.A. is making Y.A.L.A. (You Always Live Again) the new YOLO?

I drink some control, keep it in my poncho!

What do you think of the new preview? Are you excited for the new album to finally be released??

Leave a Reply

